John Peel’s Shed

Well, that’s very disappointing. ‘John Peel’s Shed’ is being recorded for radio tonight at the BBC Radio Theatre near Oxford Circus. I applied for a ticket at the earliest opportunity and didn’t hear anything, so I assumed they were over-subscribed. So that’s a little disappointing.

But what is even more disappointing is that I have just received an email with my e-ticket. It was sent at 16:09 and I read it at 18:30. According to the ticket, doors open at 18:15 and recording begins 1t 19:15. There is no way I can get to this venue in time. And, to be honest, even if I’d received the email straightaway, it would have been a bit of a rush, to say the least: I live about an hour away from central London, if the trains cooperate.

So, what am I missing? In 2002, John Osborne won a competition on John Peel’s Radio One show. His prize was a box of records that took eight years to listen to. The show, performed at Edinburgh Festival Fringe this year, ‘is an ode to radio, those records and anyone who’s ever sought solace in wireless. Adapted from his acclaimed book Radio Head, Radio 4’s Book Of The Week and featuring records previously owned by John Peel.’ I imagine tonight’s recording is a version adapted for future broadcast on Radio 4. Or maybe Radio 2. 6 Music? Anyway, I’ll be looking out for it.

But what a shame my ticket arrived late. I’m hoping that my name is not now on some kind of BBC ticket blacklist!

Leave a Reply

