Good news for BBC 6 Music

BBC 6 Music, the digital station that the corporation tried to axe, has celebrated its biggest audience of nearly 1.5 million listeners on the eve of its 10th birthday.

Wow, I can’t believe it’s ten years old. Being broadcast on digital (DAB) only, we needed new radios. I couldn’t get one straightaway, there was a ten week waiting list at John Lewis.

So I listened online instead, to the first breakfast show presented by Phill Jupitus. And when I say online, I only had a dial-up connection to the internet at the time. It would be two years before I invested in a new PC and broadband and all that.

So congratulations 6 Music, and Happy Birthday!

More RAJARs news in The Guardian.

Leave a Reply

