BBC News – 6 Music to mark 10th anniversary

BBC News – 6 Music to mark 10th anniversary.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: it’s hard to believe BBC 6 Music is ten years old. Three new digital (DAB) radio stations known as Network X, Network Y and Network Z emerged from their chrysalids as The Asian Network, BBC 7 (now 4 Extra) and BBC 6 Music in  March 2002.

I was particularly excited about 6 Music because many of its presenters had previously starred (yes, I checked: that is the correct word) on the old BBC ‘local’ radio station for London, GLR. In pre-Facebook and pre-Twitter days, the Save GLR Campaign was ultimately unsuccessful (apart from increasing its audience towards the end, but that’s another story). Compare this with the campaign a couple of years ago to keep 6 Music when it too was under threat from BBC Management. 6 Music recently celebrated its best audience ratings ever and I’m sure the reason is that

By the way: this BBC news item says that the first record played was Ash’s ‘Burn Baby Burn’. My memory tells me it was White Stripes’ ‘Fell in love with a Girl’. So now I’m hoping this question doesn’t come up in the pub quiz…

If I had to recommend any specific shows on BBC 6 Music, I would go for, in no particular order: Gideon Coe, Lauren Laverne, Cerys Matthews, Chris Hawkins, Tom Robinson and Jon Holmes. Too much for any normal person to hear it all, of course, especially when other radio stations are available too!

If you’re going to the South Bank on March 11th, have a great time. I missed out on tickets, but maybe I’ll come along for a wander. Happy birthday 6 Music.

Leave a Reply

