Radio 2 Folk Awards 2012

I’m not a big fan of awards ceremonies. Why would I be? I never win anything. But anyway…

Last night I listened to the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards (on Radio 2, strangely) while occasionally watching on TV via the Red Button channel.

Don McLean sang a couple of old songs: but it’s always sad when someone’s voice isn’t as strong as it once was. And I think his guitar need tuning. He won the award for Lifetime Achievement. I got the 7″ single American Pie for Christmas that year, 1971, I think it was. So I was disappointed he didn’t sing that in its entirety!

It was good to see Seth Lakeman whom I’ve seen in concert 4 or 5 times now, in venues as diverse as the Open Air Theatre, Regents Park and at a students’ venue in Manchester.

For me, The Most Gorgeous Performance of The Evening Award goes to The Unthanks with The Brighouse and Rastrick Band’s rendition on ‘King of Rome’. That’s a keeper.

The Red Button channel stayed right to the end so we saw The Dubliners singing Whiskey in the Jar. Sadly this was missing from the Radio 2 broadcast: the news beckoned, something earth-shattering about football managers. Sometimes I think their production values are a tad awry.

The whole show is still available online, presumably for the usual 7 days:

BBC – Radio 2 – Events – Radio 2 Folk Awards 2012.

Leave a Reply

