Sunday morning on 6 Music etc

Sunday morning is pretty lazy for me. I usually wake up to BBC 4 Extra and Take It From Here, a comedy series first broadcast in 1958. Written by Frank Muir and Dennis Norden, it’s still funny, but may be a little slow by today’s standards. Some of the one-liners are brilliant.

This morning I also heard an episode of Parsley Sidings. This sitcom featured many of the actors from Dad’s Army, but it sadly didn’t leave me wanting more.

Broadcasting House is my weekly fix of news on Radio 4. Hosted by Paddy O’Connell, it covers some of the stories I might have missed during the week in a more light-hearted way. Well, usually. Some stories of course juat can’t be treated light-heartedly. There’s a weekly competition which entails identifying a news story from the way suggetsed by a collage of sounds. Over the years, I’ve worked out maybe half a dozen. But, no, I’ve never won the prize of a jam spoon, or whatever it is now.

But really, the highlight of Sunday mornings is now Cerys Matthews on BBC 6 Music. As with most of the music programmes I enjoy, you just can’t guess what will be played each week. I like the mix of some familiar stuff with new music. This morning, her guest was Martha Reeves. Now I remember hearing Martha, with her Vandellas singing Dancing in the Streets on the old pirate stations, nearly fifty years ago.  Yes, unbelievably, I am that old.

And at noon, I’m looking forward to hearing John Cooper Clarke sharing some of his favourite music in 6 Music Playlist. I’ll be recording that for future enjoyment as I have things to do and places to go where listening to the radio would be difficult.

So, one morning, three different radio stations. So far.

Listen to BBC 6 Music live here.

Here’s the BBC 4 Extra Schedule.

Broadcasting House on Radio 4.

 

Leave a Reply

