Sian Williams to join Saturday Live

I’ve seen Sian Williams present the BBC 1 Breakfast Show a few times over the years, but I’ve never been a regular viewer. If I’m up at that time, the radio will usually be on instead. And in any case, most days I’m at work while all this breakfast TV is taking place.

But Sian has decided not to move to Salford with her co-presenter Bill Turnbull and the rest of the team.

Instead, she will return to Radio 4 to co-present Saturday Live with the Rev Richard Coles. I’ve been a fan of the programme since it started a few years ago, originally presented by the delightful Fi Glover. I try to listen live each week, but I work five Saturdays out of six, so it’s quite difficult.

I was able to listen using the FM radio on my mobile phone, using the headset which also acted as the antenna. This worked well, until one day at work, a mouse decided to eat my headset. It was in several pieces, and proved to be impossible to replace, unless I obtained a whole new phone.

As a backup, my digital TV recorder is set up to record Saturday Live every week, and it’s 90% reliable.

I do have a new phone now, but when I’m at work, I tend to listen to it via the loudspeaker rather than the headset. The sound quality is nowhere near perfect, of course, but when there’s traffic in the background, and other extraneous noise, it doesn’t really matter. Plus, of course, not wearing a headset, it’s much easier to talk to people.

But I digress. this is a major news item about Saturday Live acquiring a new presenter, and being extended:

BBC News – Sian Williams to rejoin Radio 4 from BBC Breakfast.

 

Leave a Reply

