Broadcasting House

Very disappointed not to win the BH competition again this morning. I don’t always know the answer to their quiz, but when I do, I do like to enter. I say ‘quiz’, because that’s what Paddy O’Connell calls it, but it’s not really, it’s a montage of sounds that are clues to a news item that occurred during the week.

I won’t tell you the answer but you can listen again here.

It may have escaped your notice that it is the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic. It took me by surprise too when I half heard something mentioned in passing on the radio this morning.

Hah… actually, towards the end of today’s BH, Steve Punt does a pretty good job of exposing the over-exposure of the Titanic ‘celebrations’, not only on Radio 4, but pretty much on every other radio and TV station too. Skip to 57m08s for Steve Punt if you don’t want to hear the rest of the show.

Earlier on, while searching for some Titanic-free output, I heard Norman Jay on Nemone’s show on 6 Music. I haven’t heard him on the radio for quite a while but he always used to keep me company on a Sunday night on his GLR show, while I did the washing up. And every time(*) I’ve been to the Notting Hill Carnival, I always make a pilgrimage to his Good Times bus.

In other, totally unrelated news, this is a long but very interesting review of a couple of new books about David Bowie. Can’t help noticing the writer’s name is Thomas Jones. Major Tom? Related to Davy Jones (aka David Bowie)? 

(*) I just checked: I haven’t been since 2005.

 

One thought on “Broadcasting House

Leave a Reply

