Sony Radio Academy Awards 2012: Winners and nominees in full – Media News – Digital Spy

I can do no better than point you to the full runners and riders from last night’s Sony Awards. I tied watching online, but it was decided that a sound-only stream would be provided, such is the nature of radio.

Sony Radio Academy Awards 2012: Winners and nominees in full – Digital Spy.

I blogged when the nominations were announced on March 30th. So how did my preferences get on? All I can say is: this is why I stay out of betting shops.

Very surprised and disappointed that Kiss Breakfast with Rickie, Melvin and Charlie won the Breakfast Show of the Year (10 million plus). Partly becaus it has no appeal to me and partly because: does it really attract over 10 million listeners?

Best Music Programme went to Fearne Cotton on Radio 1. I’ve not heard the show and have chosen not to because, whenever she’s on TV, at Glastonbury, say, she tends to over-use the word ‘amazing’ – to the point ehere nothing is amazing. It’s like having a boss whose every job is ‘urgent’. In the end, none of them can be, you just do what you can.

Adam and Joe won silver for Best Entertainment Programme. Hooray!

Chris Evans, Lauren Laverne and Christian O’Connell won gold, silver and bronze respectively for Music Radio Personality of the Year. Can’t really argue with that.

Jools Holland is Music Broadcaster of the Year. This is one show that keeps me entertained whjile at work, well, for an hour a week, anyway.

Danny Baker won Speech Radio Personality of the Year for his 5 Live show. And as I write, I’m listening to him on BBC London where he is berating the folks there for not being in raptures at his success, and for not putting this show forward. He just played an old GLR jingle by way of making some kind of point.

Best Comedy went to Mark Steel’s In Town on Radio 4. I do like Mark Steel but so far, I’ve managed to miss this particular show. I’m sure I’ll catch up with it on Radio 4 Extra.

A Tale of Two Cities got the bronze for Best Drama. When I first mentioned it, I hadn’t heard it. I’ve since heard one episode, and regret to say, I didn’t get on with it.

And UK Station of the Year is BBC Radio 6 Music which is terrific news. And to think a couple of years ago, it was under the threat of being closed down due to some misguided management at the BBC.

It was good to hear Tom Robinson accept the award for Best Use Of Multiplatform or Social Media for Now Playing @ 6 Music. This is a great little programme that invites listeners to take part and help build the playlist. It’s one of those programmes that you’ll love one week and turn off the next. But as I always say, it’s good to hear the unexpected, even if you don’t like it.

Leave a Reply

