Some that I missed

Despite my best efforts, I sometimes miss programmes that are on my mental playlist and sometimes I only find out after the event. Most of them will be repeated at some point, but that relies on me being fully on the ball.

I’m glad to say that the BBC does send out several email newsletters each week. But reading them all fully and remembering to act on the contents is a major project in itself.

Recently I missed a documentary on Radio 4 about the development of Jeff Wayne’s War of the Worlds. It was on before Christmas and has long since fallen off the iPlayer.

…But Still they Come.

I try to keep up with desert Island Discs but managed to miss the one with Dawn French. i’m not her biggest fan, but by all accounts, this was an especially moving edition of the long-running series. This was also first broadcast before Christmas.

But lo! Of course: Desert Island Discs is on the iPlayer for far longer than the usual 7 days. So I haven’t mised it after all!

Desert Island Discs wth Dawn French.

Talking about Desert Island Discs: Guy Garvey usually plays an excerpt from an old programme during the course of his weekly show on BBC 6 Music. In particualr, in tribute to the late Sir Patrick, he played a small snippet from Patrick Moore’s desert island selection, when he was interviewed by the programme’s originator, Roy Plomley. The programme was originally broadcast in 1963 so I doubt that I heard it then. I thought it might be online with the whole Desert Island Discs archive, but this edition is, as I write, not listed.

Desert Island Discs with Patrick Moore.

Desert Island Discs Archives.

And speaking of Guy Garvey, his weekly show on 6 Music is highly recommended by me. Another of those shows that plays music you didn’t know you wanted to hear.

Guy Garvey’s Finest Hour BBC 6 Music, Sunday 10pm to midnight.

Leave a Reply

