BBC Radio 6 Music – New Trail

Wow this has got to be the most exciting news today. The BBC have produced a new trail for BBC 6 Music. Well that’s terrific. The complaint a few years ago was that 6 Music wasn’t being given the publicity it deserved. Well, now that’s it has been ‘saved’ by us, its audience, and it’s going from strength to strength, does it really need these glossy adverts?

I was alerted to it by a tweet from Lauren Laverne, which is why I have chosen this link:
BBC Radio 6 Music – Lauren Laverne

I have no idea how much these things cost. But it does make me wonder how much spare cash there is sloshing around the BBC. One  day, they have to save money by running down all the local radio stations. Hence, we no longer have Danny Baker on BBC London, for example. Then this ‘cross-promotional’ budget seems to be a bottomles pit of our licence money.

And not only trails. I read the other day that following Mark Thompson’s ‘Delivering Quality First’ initiative, the number of ‘executives’ and ‘managers’ on six-figure salaries has increased rather than  gone down as was, I believe, intended.

Well, that’s my rant for the day. I’ll be back with something more positive later.

Meanwhile, I trust you like the new trail.

Leave a Reply

